Big Basin Fungi


Brotherly Love

I’m still working with some of the photos I took when I visited Great Basin State Park.  The first thing I noticed when we got into the park, aside from the enormous trees, was the lush greenery. There was so much moss, I couldn’t tell which direction was north. I grew up in the east where the common wisdom was that moss only grew on the north side of a tree.  With all that moisture, there was bound to be some fungi lurking.

Today’s watercolor experiment:

I photographed an amazing collection of fungi that was attached to a downed tree. Light falling on some of the attached pieces of fungus (I don’t know what to call them – they are not leaves or petals) shown through, giving a rosy translucent effect. The fungus in the shadows were devoid of color, but had concentric ringed patterns along their edges.

Here is…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a Reply

